What’s the word on those tests?

The word is: I’m bored and my interest has been directed elsewhere. Shame on me. Never said I had focus. So I’ll think of different things to do until more thorough, formal, and exact tests can be done on the models.

But I want to get your thoughts on other things I could test. So send me any hypotheses or claims that are made by people, and we can test them! 😀

8 Responses to “What’s the word on those tests?”

  1. edaniel Says:

    Andrew, what’s your e-mail address? I have the GRL paper.

    dhughes4 mac com

  2. timetochooseagain Says:

    Email it to crazybean13 at gmail.com

    Sorry I didn’t catch that sooner, busy life ya know!

    (And don’t ask why I’m up at this hour. I suffer from insomnia.)

  3. Tony Hansen Says:

    IPCC 4AR suggests/projects/predicts/swags that (for Australia) we will have more and bigger droughts and more and bigger bushfires.
    Just how we build the fuel load for said fires, with more drought, they don’t quite say.
    I was wondering if there was a correlation between precipitation and temperature.
    I think it may need to be site specific. From what I have seen, the BOM rainfall data (with their QA tick of approval) has some very curious gaps.
    Easy enough to hypothesise why there is a gap – not so easy to work out why they gave it a tick.
    I spent an hour, or maybe two, looking at the NOAA etc links you provided on the drought thread and there seems to similar gaps in their precip data. (I may not have found their best data sets).
    Is it possible that we have less rain because there is less cloud – and that in summer that would make things hotter?
    Cheers

  4. timetochooseagain Says:

    Tony- I know that NOAA has monthly data for precipitation for every state at their climate at a glance page-regarding gaps in the data, I would tend to assume that you are referring to individual stations? The over all trend in the US has been towards more precipitation, especially in Autumn-I haven’t any clue why.

    David Stockwell did a series of posts with regard to drought in Australia. My favorite was this one:

    http://landshape.org/enm/comparison-of-models-and-observations-in-csiro-decr/

    One thing I notice is that only some of the models project an increase in drought area (One is REALLY out there!) but the all appear to disagree with the actual observations:

    EDIT: Oh golly, I forgot the rest of your question(s).

    “I was wondering if there was a correlation between precipitation and temperature.”

    In general, a warmer world is a wetter one, because the extra evaporation has to rain out eventually. But regionally the situation could theoretically vary greatly. I know that precipitation changes in the US are weakly positively related to our temperatures, but that’s most because they both have an over all positive trend.

    “Is it possible that we have less rain because there is less cloud – and that in summer that would make things hotter?”

    It would make days hotter, yes, but nights cooler, and I’m not sure if season would matter much. I suppose that if there aren’t many clouds it probably means the air is too dry to have sufficient condensation for rain droplets to form.

  5. Tony Hansen Says:

    Yes, you are right about the diurnal variation.

    So could an unusual/non-normal increase in diurnal variation be an indicator of coming dry or drier than normal conditions?
    (In more brittle environments it is dry for many months before it starts to become worrying. Going a few months with little or no rain is not an unusual occurrence).

    Is there any evidence in the temp/precip records to support the idea?
    What I thought I knew of the dustbowl was that it was hot and dry – but maybe it was only high max temps.
    Regards

  6. Tony Hansen Says:

    ttca, I was wondering about the diurnal variance thing.
    And clouds – or at least cloudiness.
    Are there some threshold levels needed for cloudcover to see a significant (whatever that may mean) decrease in diurnal variation?
    Does cloud cover itself have a diurnal variance?
    Would it be possible to even know this?
    Who else could/should I ask?

  7. timetochooseagain Says:

    Sorry, your asking the wrong person, I think. I haven’t got that kind of information.

  8. Tony Hansen Says:

    No worries, thanks for your time

Leave a Reply

